top of page
  • Writer's pictureSt Aldates Youth

Thursdays Thoughts // Uncertian Future

We are currently all in this uncertain time. We don’t know when things will be normal again and don’t know what the future has in store for us, which is something I talked about a few weeks ago in my last Thursday’s Thought. But this week I want to focus more on our own personal futures.


I know that many of you are either going to be moving into Sixth Form or even moving to Uni. And then many of you are going to be starting your GCSE’s properly next term. But at this time we don’t know what this is going to look like, whether classes will still be online or not.


For me, as I’m coming towards the end of my year here at St Aldates, I’m looking at what life is going to look like for me “post internship”. I’m still rather uncertain about it. I don’t know whether to study or to go and get a job. After praying a lot about this, God has been telling me “Don’t worry about your future, just trust me”. And to be honest this wasn’t the answer I was really looking for. I was hoping for an answer like, “This _________ is exactly where I want you to go next”.


I don’t think that was God saying just sit back and relax, next year’s plans will sort itself out. I feel like he was saying, “don’t get stressed out about it, wherever you will be next year I can use you for good, I will provide a place for you to be, so don’t stress.”


In Matthew 6:25-34, Jesus is giving his Sermon on the Mount. This is what he said;


'“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life? 28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labour or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendour was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.'


This is a great reminder that even in confusing times, we can trust that God will provide for us all that we need.


So if any of you are uncertain about what your future has in store, I want to say to you. Put your trust in God. Don’t let it stress you out. Keep planning for your future but don’t let it stress you out. God will provide everything you need. Keep praying about it. Find a mentor or someone you can talk about and pray about it with.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page